Posted on

Travels of Thelonious: The Fog Mound, by Susan Schade and Jon Buller

(Image credit: http://www.powells.com)

“Last year I took a graphic novel course in school so I read quite a few. I like them because you can read them quickly.”~Bella, 17

Schade, Susan, and Buller, Jon. Travels Of Thelonious:The Fog Mound. New York, NY: Aladdin, 2007.

Annotation: A lost chipmunk finds out that humans really did exist on Earth in the past. He and his new friends; a bear, a porcupine, and a lizard; try to fly a velocicopter to the utopic Fog Mound.

Booktalk:

Hi there! I’m Thelonious Chipmunk, how do you do? Did you meet my friends? The porcupine is Fitzgerald, he took care of me when I got to the City of Ruins by accident, washed down the river. And this is Olive—don’t be scared, where she’s from, even the bears are vegetarians! That’s where they want to go, to the Fog Mound where she lives! She’s just finishing up building this velocicopter so that they can fly over the deadly fog that surrounds the mountain. She’s going to drop me off in the Untamed Forest where I live. I can’t wait to tell my family what I’ve seen! But I’m not so sure I’m ready to be done traveling. We have to hurry to get out here, though, I think there was a spy…

Awards:

Great Lakes Great Books Master List

IRA/CBC Children’s Choices

Leave a Reply

